Summer Reading 2

As I posted earlier, the second half of the Summer Reading posts focuses on what I have to read for University over the summer.

For my last year I have two modules in English Language, two modules in English Literature and a Dissertation, which I have chosen to do in Lit. The modules that I have chosen for English Language are English Grammar and Child Language Development and I am sure I will have to do a lot of reading around these topics.

In Lit, the modules that I have chosen have specific reading lists and these are…

Shakespeare and Gender

The Taming of the Shrew

 Richard III

 Love’s Labour’s Lost

Twelfth Night

All’s Well that Ends Well

Othello

Pericles

Children’s Literature

J.M. Barrie –  Peter Pan

Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Secret Garden

Kenneth Grahame – The Wind in the Willows

A. A. Milne – Winnie the Pooh AND The House at Pooh Corner

E. Nesbit – The Story of the Amulet

J. R. R. Tolkien – The Hobbit

Obviously having less modules frees up a lot of my time for my dissertation and I have decided that I am going to look into how Charles Dickens constructs his villains across the following texts…

Oliver Twist

Nicholas Nickleby

The Old Curiosity Shop

I’m not exactly sure where it is going to take me yet but I’m hoping to find out a few things about Dickens himself, how he manages to characterise his villains so that they seem both horrible and terrifying and I might even start to look at why they seem to terrorise small, innocent children!

If you’ve got anything to say about any of these books or if you have read any of them then feel free to let me know what you think … Maybe you even have an idea or a suggestion about my Dickens themed dissertation! If you do, I would love to hear them so please comment below 🙂

 40-41196009-Mpeter-pan-in-kensington-gardens-wendy-j-m-barrie-paperback-cover-art

One comment

  1. The Shakespeare seems a bit heavy on the ‘comedies’ . I haven’t studied these texts but may have some notes on Othello if you’re interested. For the children’s literature, I have something on Peter Pan and general critical essays about the issue of what is children’s literature. Let me know if these would help

Leave a Reply

