Globe Theatre Trip: A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Having never been to The Globe before, this was a whole new experience for me and was one that I thoroughly enjoyed. I don’t really know why I haven’t been before and since booking the tickets, I had been looking forward to this for a long time.

Previously, I have seen Othello with Adrian Lester and Rory Kinnear at the National Theatre as well as watching David Tennant and Catherine Tate in their performance of Much Ado About Nothing but the open-air theatre at The Globe just had something more to offer. Whether it was that the sun was shining, or that there was just a good atmosphere in anticipation of the comedy, I felt that my experience at The Globe ranked above any other Shakespeare performance that I have ever seen before and to put it simply, I just cannot wait to go back!

The main things that impressed me were the staging presence of all the characters, how the play came to life on the stage and of course the casting of the Rude Mechanicals, who were even better than I could have imagined. They were incredibly funny and their use of the language was both clever and witty. The crowd seemed to agree and there was lots of laughter shared and I can safely say that anyone who went would have come out feeling much better than when their evening had begun. I went with my friend from Uni and we couldn’t believe just how good of a performance it was. (But you’ve probably already got that point!)

If you do have a chance to go to The Globe, even if you’re not Shakespeare’s greatest fan, you just have to go! (Just make sure to hire a seat cushion…)

I did have to read A Midsummer Night’s Dream for my Shakespeare course this year but on reflection, I feel that I may have been slightly harsh in only awarding the play a 6/10. Have a look at what I first thought of it here… https://inbetweenthelines1.wordpress.com/2012/12/28/shakespeare-play-a-midsummer-nights-dream/

Here’s a couple of photos that I took whilst I was there … As you can see we were lucky enough to have great weather and to have seats right in the front row behind the pit.

DSC_0666       DSC_0667

7 comments

  1. What a wonderful experience. The Dream can be a memorable experience if done well which it seems The Globe one is. Im hoping to see this myself later in the year. But first I have to see my husband in a production of the same play in a summer festival in Cardiff. He’s playing bottom and we have the tricky problem of the ass head to resolve. How did they do it at the Globe?

  2. Ohmigawsh! I was in the play Much Ado About Nothing last year, and got to watch the David Tennant and Catherine Tate version with a couple of friends and it was WONDERFUL! This year we are doing Midummer Nights Dream, and I will probably get Helena! I am SO exited and Much Ado and Midsummer are my favourite comedies! YAY!

Leave a Reply

