Book Challenge 4

The last installment of this challenge…It has actually been a lot harder than I thought it would be!

Favourite book you own

Oliver Twist. This is my favourite Dickens book and has inspired my Dickens themed dissertation.

A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t

Life of Pi. This summer. This is when I will read this book!

A book that you wish more people would’ve read

The Devil on the Road. I was recommended this book by one of my English teachers ages ago and it is so good. If you want something good and not too complicated then this is definitely worth the read!

A character who you can relate to the most

Harry Potter. This was the hardest question out of the whole challenge. Obviously I don’t have the whole magic thing going on and someone trying to kill me repeatedly every year but I have grown up reading and watching Harry Potter. There are some great friendships explored in this and I really don’t think there could have been a more suitable answer.

A book that changed your opinion about something

To Kill a Mockingbird. This book is strangely gripping. It takes a different stance on racism and you can see many different viewpoints. As a side note, Atticus Finch is possibly the nicest character that I have ever read about.

The most surprising plot twist or ending

Atonement. A typical post-modern double ending. You think everything is sorted and things can be happily ever after. However there is this feeling that you get knowing it can’t be right…and it isn’t.

Favourite title

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time. A simple title, a funny event and a truly magnificent story.

A book everyone hated but you liked

The Lovely Bones. Practically everyone I know dislikes this book but I really quite enjoyed it. I even talked about it today with my friend Tess and she said how much she didn’t like it! (However, I do agree that the film ruined it though…)

Your favourite book of all time

Oliver Twist. This is just the best. I told you that it would creep up time and time again on this challenge so, here it is finishing the challenge!

Leave a Reply

