Book Challenge 2

It has been a busy week, any thoughts on any of these…?

Most overrated book

Middlemarch. Currently reading this for Year Two of University and with all the hype that surrounds it, I was interested to read it. Not really sure that it is the book for me though…

A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

Pride and Prejudice. When I first heard what this book was about, I really thought I wouldn’t like it. After my first read I was still a little disappointed but since then having to read it at A-Level and University, I have grown to rather like it and understand it in the greater depths that this novel consists of.

Favourite classic book

Oliver Twist. This is my favourite classic book, my favourite ever book and I think you are going to see this one appear time and time again on this book challenge.

A book you hated

The Color Purple. I despise this book, I really think that it is the worst book I have ever read and would thoroughly persaude anyone who thinks it would be a good idea to read it, to avoid it. Even thinking about it now makes angry of how much I don’t like it.

A book you used to love but don’t anymore

The Lovely Bones. I loved the book and couldn’t put it down. However, after the film which was very disappointing, I sort of forgot about it and it kind of turned into a rather boring murder story.

Your favourite writer

Charles Dickens. J.K.Rowling. Ian McEwan. (Okay, so I cheated a little bit there but no-one can have just one favourite author!)

Favourite book of your favourite writer

Oliver Twist. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Atonement. These books will be on my book shelf forever. Doesn’t get much better than that for me!

There are several posts to follow in the next week including Julius Caesar, The Jew of Malta and my decided dissertation topic, I promise!

3 comments

    • I think it was the letters that I didn’t really like if I’m honest. Also, there is not too much history of the characters nor character development and I think that combined with the writing style of the novel really put me off!

      • The narrative style is certainly different but I loved the idea of her writing the letters to God because there wasn’t anyone else she could tell. We’ll probably have to agree to disagree on character development because i see a strong progression – just look at the language she uses towards the end when she has independence.

Leave a Reply

