Books to read in ’13

So, 2012 is drawing to a close and it has been a pretty terrific year.

Since I’ve been studying Literature for the last few years I’ve kind of forgotten about reading books for pleasure as I’ve been bombarded with reading for academic purposes. Now don’t get me wrong, some of the books that I have read have been fantastic but reading to a deadline is just not the same as reading a book at your own leisurely pace.

Although I probably won’t get around to reading them very soon as I have to read seventeen plays for next term first, this is a list of the books that I wish to read next year. If anyone has read any of these, I’d be interested to hear on what you thought of them!

To Read:

1) Life of Pi

2) The Hunger Games

After seeing the film, I was disappointed with the ending. After the great reviews that the book trilogy has got I’m hoping for good things.

3) Catching Fire

4) Mockingjay

5) The Casual Vacancy

Harry Potter basically defines my childhood so J.K.Rowling’s next book definitely earns a slot on my ‘to read’ list.

6) War Torn

This has been sitting on my bookshelf for ages. It needs to be picked up and read.

7) Birdsong

Another book I’ve been meaning to read. A novel about love and war. Should be an interesting read!

8) Moby Dick

A classic. It has been argued that this is a must read for everyone. Lets see!

9) A Christmas Carol

Every year I watch the Muppet’s version of ‘A Christmas Carol’ and it is about time I read Dickens’ version.

10) Snow Falling on Cedars

Recommended by a friend, I read the plot line and it seems like an interesting book with several different aspects unfolding consecutively.

I also want to start reading more of Dickens’ novels. My favourite book is Oliver Twist and currently I am thinking about writing my dissertation on Dickens. These are a few of the novels that I am going to try and read in the near future.

Dickens:

  • A Tale of Two Cities
  • Bleak House
  • Great Expectations
  • Hard Times
  • Little Dorrit
  • The Mystery of Edwin Drood
7 comments

    • That is good to know! I think I’m definitely going to read the trilogy first, I wasn’t too impressed by the first film but I am hoping the books prove otherwise Yes, I did think that about the film, will have to read the book first though!

  1. I loved The Hunger Games trilogy – I wasn’t disappointed by the movie but the book The Hunger Games was better. Life of Pi is on my TBR for 2013 as are Moby Dick and A Tale of Two Cities – I am trying to read at least 13 classics in 2013. Happy Reading!

  2. OH! The Hunger Games books are definitely better than the movie. Though I was one of those people who LOVED the ending of the book and the movie!

    • Haha, I think I was disappointed with the ending because I thought there was a lack of violence in the film but if it had have ended differently then they probably wouldn’t have been able to have the trilogy aha! I’m sure reading all three books will more than make up for my disappointment 🙂

Leave a Reply

