Shakespeare Play: Macbeth

14 down, 2 to go…

I haven’t posted a reading related post for a while so I figured I should start catching up. I have been doing lots of working and revision so please forgive me!

This post will focus on Macbeth and there will be ones following this post so make sure to look out for them!

Macbeth is one of my favourite Shakespeare plays and having studied it previously in Year 11, it gave me a chance to really explore all the elements of it. The play begins with the introduction of the three witches, the establishment of Macbeth’s bravery and the witches views on what Macbeth will become. This prophecy becomes Macbeth’s ambition and is what he chooses to live by in order to make it happen. At first he seems reluctant to kill in order to benefit himself but that soon changes as he becomes hungry for power and his greed rises with his death count. The opening of the play introduces many crucial elements that make the play so enthralling: the creation of Macbeth’s character and his morals, the idea of the supernatural and the idea of right and wrong. Of course, there are many more elements within this play and one of these is the idea of the powerful woman.

Within this play, there are many well-quoted passages but the part I want to focus on is the ‘Is this a dagger I see before me’ speech. Yes, this is Macbeth’s motivation for killing the King but I would like to look at it in a different way. I think, that this passage promotes the idea of the power of women that runs throughout this play because the dagger is the significant symbol that enables Lady Macbeth to finish what Macbeth could not. Lady Macbeth acts as the symbol of real masculinity and she even wishes at one point, that she were not a woman so she could commit the murder herself. She has to manipulate her husband into committing the crime and it is hard to forget that Macbeth did kill Duncan but not only did he fail to complete this fully but he also begins to go crazy because of it. It is Lady Macbeth who finishes the murder by framing the chamberlains and placing the bloody daggers with them and it is notable to suggest that she only becomes ill when Macbeth becomes greedier and quests for more power. She guides Macbeth just like the witches do and it is clear that Shakespeare intended the women of this play to be more powerful and superior to the weaker male characters.

I’m quite interested to hear what other people hear about this play, there are so many parts to consider it would be impossible to discuss all of them. This tragedy is full of violence and blood and has some of the best written passages that Shakespeare ever wrote. As I already mentioned, this is one of my favourite Shakespeare plays and as you have probably guessed this play earns a fantastic 10/10! This play is full of corruption, tyranny and dictatorship and I can’t wait to see what questions I get asked about if for my upcoming exams.

 

 

9780435192037

 

 

5 thoughts on “Shakespeare Play: Macbeth

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your interpretation of Macbeth, especially your analysis of Lady Macbeth. I posted my interpretation of Lady Macbeth several days ago, and agree with many of your opinions.

    I’m looking forward to reading your next blog entries. Keep up the quality work :)

  2. Love Macbeth, its definitely my favourite Shakespeare and I was lucky enough to be offered a ticket to see it last week starring James Mcavoy! It was a lot more high tech than traditional Shakespeare (featuring guns, gasmasks and enough fake blood to drown in) but overall I thought it was brilliant. My only complaint was that Lady Macbeth wasn’t as callous as I’d always imagined her, she seemed to care too much about Macbeth and not enough about herself, but I guess that’s the beauty of interpretation of a text. Great post!

    • Glad you love Macbeth too! Must admit, I am pretty jealous that you got to go and see it, I thought about getting tickets for ages! Well yes, I guess it is but I’ve always imagined her to be like that when I read the text too :)

  3. my favorite is the first soliloquy of macbeth in act I scene VII especially this line ” we but teach bloody instructions , which being taught returns to plague the inventor”

Leave a Reply

